NCAA Women’s College World Series history dates to 1982, when UCLA earned its first of 12 national championships.

The Most Outstanding Player award, which is given to the best individual WCWS player each year, was first presented in 1995. Since then, Arizona and UCLA have accumulated five MOPs, the most by any team. Oklahoma sits just behind with four. Of the 26 MOPs, 20 have been pitchers, with 13 being seniors.

2021 WCWS: Here’s the 2021 Women’s College World Series schedule

Below is a year-by-year history of the WCWS MOPs, compiled from the NCAA record book.

2019 Rachel Garcia UCLA Senior Pitcher
2018 Jessie Warren Florida St. Senior Third Base
2017 Shay Knighten Oklahoma Sophomore First Base
2016 Paige Parker Oklahoma Sophomore Pitcher
2015 Lauren Haeger Florida Senior Pitcher
2014 Hannah Rogers Florida Senior Pitcher
2013 Keilani Ricketts Oklahoma Senior Pitcher
2012 Jackie Traina Alabama Sophomore Pitcher
2011 Dallas Escobedo (co-MOP) Arizona St. Freshman Pitcher
2011 Michelle Moultrie (co-MOP) Florida Junior Centerfield
2010 Megan Langenfeld UCLA Senior Pitcher
2009 Danielle Lawrie Washington Junior Pitcher
2008 Katie Burkhart Arizona St. Senior Pitcher
2007 Tayrne Mowatt Arizona Junior Pitcher
2006 Alicia Hollowell Arizona Senior Pitcher
2005 Samantha Findlay Michigan Freshman First Base
2004 Kristin Schmidt LSU Senior Pitcher
2003 Keira Goerl UCLA Senior Pitcher
2002 Jocelyn Forest California Senior Pitcher
2001 Jennie Finch Arizona Senior Pitcher
2000 Jennifer Stewart Oklahoma Sophomore Pitcher
1999 Julie Adams UCLA Junior Third Base
1998 Amanda Scott Fresno St. Sophomore Pitcher
1997 Nancy Evans Arizona Junior Pitcher
1996 Jenny Dalton Arizona Senior Second Base
1995 Tanya Harding UCLA Junior Pitcher

Rachel Garcia, UCLA | 2019

Rachel Garcia’s path to the 2019 WCWS finals pivoted during the June 2 semifinal game against No. 3 Washington. Ten innings of 16-strikeout, shutout ball came to fruition at the moment her bat launched a pitch over the fence. The walk-off, three-run home run sent Garcia and the Bruins to the finals. She added another home run in Game 1 of the finals against No. 1 Oklahoma.

DREAM-WORTHY: Rachel Garcia tells the story of an emotional — but fairytale — 2019 season

She ended her WCWS career with a 5-0 record, 1.75 ERA and 33 strikeouts. She hit .333 with two home runs, eight RBI and five walks.

Jessie Warren, Florida State | 2018

Tying a WCWS record of 13 hits, Florida State’s Jessie Warren had a .520 batting average, two doubles, two home runs, four RBI and six runs scored in the 2018 WCWS. She helped lead the Seminoles to their first WCWS Championship Series. During Game 1, Warren hit a pair of doubles, then preserved the 1-0 lead with a seventh-inning diving catch off a sac-bunt attempt. The acrobatic play capped ESPN SportCenter’s Top Plays.