The College World Series uses a double-elimination format, which means there’s at least some margin for error for each of the eight qualifying teams.

Only 25 NCAA baseball national champions in 72 years of the College World Series, or 35 percent, have gone undefeated in the tournament en route to clinching a CWS title. The last time it happened was in 2013 when UCLA swept through the bracket.

CWS 2019: Full tournament bracket | Printable CWS bracket | CWS info & tickets | Shop latest CWS gear

Here are the 25 national champions to win every game during their College World Series championship runs:

year school record in cws
2013 UCLA (49-17) 5-0
2012 Arizona (48-17) 5-0
2011 South Carolina (55-14) 5-0
2007 Oregon State (49-18) 5-0
2005 Texas (56-16) 5-0
2002 Texas (57-15) 4-0
2001 Miami (Fla.) (53-12) 4-0
2000 LSU (52-17) 4-0
1999 Miami (Fla.) (50-13) 4-0
1997 LSU (57-13) 4-0
1996 LSU (52-15) 4-0
1995 Cal State Fullerton (57-9) 4-0
1994 Oklahoma (50-17) 4-0
1992 Pepperdine (48-11-1) 4-0
1991 LSU (55-18) 4-0
1983 Texas (66-14) 5-0
1982 Miami (Fla.) (55-17-1) 5-0
1978 Southern California (54-9) 5-0
1973 Southern California (51-11) 5-0
1968 Southern California (43-12-1) 5-0
1961 Southern California (36-7) 5-0
1957 California (35-10) 5-0
1951 Oklahoma (19-9) 4-0
1949 Texas (23-7) 3-0
1947 California (31-10) 2-0

CWS HISTORY: Here are the 11 teams to win the title after losing their first games in the CWS

Twelve different schools have accomplished this feat, led by LSU, Texas and USC, who have each done so four times. 

The College World Series format has shifted a couple times over the tournament’s 73-year history, which accounts for the difference in minimum number of games played for the above champions. Here’s a brief timeline of changes to the CWS bracket layout:


Eight teams were selected to the inaugural NCAA tournament field, split into two four-team brackets played with single elimination. The two advancing teams advanced to the College World Series, a best-of-three final series.


The only change in Year 2 was making the two original four-team brackets play in double-elimination. Once again, the final two teams advanced to the College World Series, a best-of-three series.


The College World Series field was expanded to four teams, played in double-elimination format.


The modern eight-team CWS field was introduced. It stayed in a double-elimination format through the final series.


The eight-team field was split into two four-team brackets. The winner of each quadrant advanced to a one-game championship matchup to decide the national title.


The current format’s only change was making the championship series a best-of-three series between the two winners of each half of the bracket. This means a team can lose twice — once in bracket play, once in the final series — and still win the title.

Here are the college baseball coaches with the most College World Series victories

Here’s a look at the 12 coaches who have the most wins in the College World Series.


Here are the college baseball programs with the most appearances in the College World Series

Let’s take a look at the college baseball teams that have found their way to Omaha and the College World Series with the most frequency over the past 73 years.


College baseball: 7 states with most College World Series trips and titles

The ultimate prize for any Division I baseball program is to see your season end in Omaha. But which states can boast the highest numbers of programs to reach the College World Series or win national championships?



About Author

Turner South Syndicate  is proud to publish TSS is a group of common interest people coming together in the sports news world. Sports news has always been an evolving hobby of ours. We take pride in researching the latest breaking news and presenting stories to readers as a quick reference. Sources are from multiple outlets scoured by our highly enthused team of researchers. Presenting a navigational friendly website, we are dedicated to exhibit the latest stories in sports. Also, for mobile news check out our app, Sports Buzz Source, on Google Play Store. ​ Lastest app releases are Remind List+ and YoCelsi on iTunes. Remind List+ -- Record all your list in one place and get notifications on home screen. Check it out... ​ YoCelsi - Minimalist Weather and Local Sorm Conditions Social Browser - 3D iBrowser with integrated social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc...)

Comments are closed.