Here are the DI college baseball programs with the most national championships.

12 — Southern California  (1948, 1958, 1961, 1963, 1968, 1970-74, 1978, 1998)

The Trojans dominated college baseball through the 1970s, winners of the most college baseball national championships in CWS history. Sparked by an unprecedented and still unmatched five title runs in a row, the Trojans have double the amount of titles than the next closest schools in the history of the College World Series. That run produced future Major League Baseball players like Fred Lynn, Dave Kingman, Roy Smalley, and Rich Dauer amongst a bevy of others. 

High Five: Baseball’s Greatest Coaches

6 (tied)  — LSU (1991, 1993, 1996-97, 2000, 2009)

It took a while, but once head coach Skip Bertman arrived on campus in 1984, the Tigers began to transform into a national powerhouse. In a 10-year span, he led the Tigers to five championships, becoming one of just three head coaches (Rod Dedeaux and Augie Garrido being the other two) to win five titles.  Todd Walker would become a legend at Alex Box Stadium before embarking on a successful MLB career.

HISTORY: Coaches with most CWS wins | Schools with the most appearances | Conferences most represented

6 (tied) — Texas (1949-50, 1975, 1983, 2002, 2005)

Three iconic head coaches, each with two national championships apiece. Texas baseball has withstood the test of time in the NCAA tournament, and while Southern California may have the most championships, Texas’ sustained success since the earliest years of the College World Series is unrivaled, with as many national runners-up finishes in the College World Series finals as titles. The Longhorns began the illustrious history in Omaha with the first College World Series title at Rosenblatt Stadium. Roger Clemens won a title in 1983 with the Longhorns and 35 years later, his son Kody Clemens returned to Omaha, but the Longhorns couldn’t pull in No. 7.

Kody Clemens powering Texas in Omaha

5 — Arizona State (1965, 1967, 1969, 1977, 1981)

Like the Longhorns, the Sun Devils’ success can be marked in wins as well as losses. Head coach Jim Brock led them to Omaha 13 times, and Arizona State has been to 10 championship finals, walking away victorious half the time. Though the Sun Devils haven’t returned to the championship game since 1998, they look to be turning the corner once again in a very competitive Pac-12. That first Sun Devils championship team produced Rick Monday, Sal Bando, and Duffy Dyer who all went on to win at least one MLB World Series in their careers as well. 

Barry Bonds ties CWS record with 8th straight hit in 1984

4 (tied) — Arizona (1976, 1980, 1986, 2012)

Here’s a fun fact. Coaching legend Jerry Kendall, who led the Wildcats to three national championships in ten years, won a championship himself as a player with Minnesota in 1956. Arizona was a force in the late 1970s and 1980s and then won again in 2012, ending South Carolina’s quest for a three-peat.

MORE HISTORY: Players that have won both a CWS and MLB World Series

4 (tied) — Cal State Fullerton (1979, 1984, 1995, 2004)

Augie Garrido helped keep the Titans relevant for four straight decades, kind of. Cal State Fullerton won twice during his first tenure, and then once more when he returned in the 1990s from a brief hiatus at Illinois. Ten years later, Garrido was on the losing side of a Cal State Fullerton College World Series title, skipper of the Texas team that lost to George Horton’s lone championship.

4 (tied) — Miami (Fl) (1982, 1985, 1995, 2004)

Miami has been to Omaha its fair share of times, winning four of its six trips to the finals. The Hurricanes have been involved in some memorable College World Series championship games, pitting iconic coaches and college baseball players against each other like their 1974 loss to Rod Dedeaux, their 1985 win over Texas, and a battle for the Sunshine State against Florida State in 1999.

ALL-TIME NINES: Southern California | Texas | LSU | Arizona State | Arizona | Miami

3 (tied) —  Minnesota (1956, 1960, 1964)

Minnesota was amongst the earliest college baseball powerhouses, as Dick Siebert led the Gophers to three titles between 1956 and 1964. Perhaps the most memorable was the 1960 three-game series against USC. Game 1 witnessed the largest comeback in CWS history as the Gophers came back from down 11-2 to win 12-11 in the 10th, while both Game 2 and Game 3 went to extra innings, as the Gophers downed the Trojans 2-1 in the 10th on a bases-loaded walk in the finale.

High Five: College Baseball’s Best Players

3(tied) — Oregon State (2006-07, 2018)

Pat Casey ended his career with the Beavers a winner, taking Oregon State to the 2018 national championship over the Arkansas Razorbacks. It was his third title after becoming the fifth head coach to win back-to-back titles in 2006-07.