Duke’s Nina King will continue in her role as chair of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee in 2021-22, while Beth Goetz of Ball State has been named vice chair for the coming season before stepping into the chair position in 2022-23. The announcement came at the conclusion of the committee’s annual summer meeting which finished on July 28.

King, who is set to become Duke’s vice president and director of athletics on Sept. 1, served as chair of the committee in 2020-21 and is set to begin her fourth year of committee service in 2021-22 after NCAA Division I Council Coordination Committee in April approved a one-year extension for her and fellow committee member Debbie Richardson, senior associate commissioner of the Atlantic 10 Conference, because of high recent turnover of the committee roster. King and Richardson will both continue with the committee through Aug. 31, 2022.

“Serving as a member of the Division I Women’s Basketball Committee has been an honor and I continue to appreciate the support of my fellow committee members, the NCAA staff and the women’s basketball community,” said King. “It’s an exciting and crucial time for our great game and I look forward to continuing that work in the coming season.” 

Goetz, director of athletics at Ball State, is set to begin her third year on the committee in 2021-22.

“It’s an honor to serve and lead the women’s basketball committee in the role of vice chair for the coming year and as chair the year following,” said Goetz. “The work of the committee is critical to ensuring that women’s basketball can reach its full potential and I am committed to this important work through collaboration within our group and with the many stakeholders in the game.”

In addition to King, Richardson and Goetz, members of the 12-member committee for 2021-22 will include Deneé Barracato, deputy director of athletics at Northwestern; Amanda Braun, athletics director at Milwaukee; Greg Burke, director of athletics at Northwestern State; Kurt McGuffin, director of intercollegiate athletics at UT Martin; Lisa Peterson, deputy athletics director at Oregon; Derita Ratcliffe Dawkins, deputy athletics director at Arkansas; Janice Ruggiero, deputy director of athletics and senior woman administrator at New Mexico; Jill Shields, deputy athletics director at Kansas State and Lynn Tighe, senior associate athletics director and senior woman administrator at Villanova.

MEN’S HOOPS CHAIR: Bradley’s Chris Reynolds will chair DI Men’s Basketball Committee in 2022-23



About Author

Turner South Syndicate  is proud to publish SportsBuzzSource.com TSS is a group of common interest people coming together in the sports news world. Sports news has always been an evolving hobby of ours. We take pride in researching the latest breaking news and presenting stories to readers as a quick reference. Sources are from multiple outlets scoured by our highly enthused team of researchers. Presenting a navigational friendly website, we are dedicated to exhibit the latest stories in sports. Also, for mobile news check out our app, Sports Buzz Source, on Google Play Store. ​ Lastest app releases are Remind List+ and YoCelsi on iTunes. Remind List+ -- Record all your list in one place and get notifications on home screen. Check it out... ​ YoCelsi - Minimalist Weather and Local Sorm Conditions Social Browser - 3D iBrowser with integrated social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc...)

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: