*Note: All data is from the 1985 tournament to the present.

The 1989 NCAA tournament was a special one for the 11 seeds. That year, they swept their 6-seed opponents.

Minnesota got the ball rolling on March 16, beating Kansas State, 86-75, behind 29 points from Willie Burton. One day later, Evansville, South Alabama and Texas all beat their opponents.

South Alabama had the toughest time with its upset bid, beating in-state rival Alabama, 86-84, on a shot by Jeff Hodge with two seconds left in the game.

The 2017 tournament came close to matching the historic 1989 run by No. 11 seeds, as three of the four 11-seed teams pulled out wins. And the same thing happened in 2016, when No. 11 seed Michigan couldn’t beat No. 6 Notre Dame and just narrowly missed contributing to a four-for-four, No. 11-seed sweep. Last year just two No. 11 seeds won, but Syracuse advanced to the Sweet 16 and Loyola-Chicago reached the Final Four.