Illinois Wesleyan has been named the 2019 Division III men’s golf champion. The Titans finished with a 3-shot victory over second place Huntingdon. Illinois Wesleyan shot a final round 294 (+6) led by 71 from Drew Pershing.

The individual champion is Williams College’s Sam Goldenring. 

The NCAA Division III men’s golf championships was held at Keene Trace Golf Club, in Nicholasville, Kentucky and hosted by Transylvania University. The tournament began with 42 teams and six individuals, a total of 216 participants. Team and individual champions were determined after 72 holes of play. After the first 36 holes, the field was cut down to the top 18 teams and the top six individuals not on those teams.

Illinois Wesleyan and Huntingdon College entered the final round tied on top with a +16 overall. Guilford College was two stokes behind at +18, while Wittenberg maintained fourth at +31. 

For a the full tournament leaderboard through each round, click here.

DIII MEN’S GOLF: Regional rankings | Championship press release

Below are the teams and individuals who qualified for the championship and links to results:

Final standings: Team leaderboard | Individual leaderboard

Qualifying teams

Nebraska Wesleyan
Concordia University
Illinois Wesleyan
St. John Fisher
Johnson & Wales
St. Thomas
Washington & Lee
Washington & Jefferson
Farmingdale State
La Verne
Carnegie Mellon
Southwestern (Tx.)
UNC Wesleyan
Saint John’s (Minn.)

Qualifying Individuals

Preston DeSantis (Berry),
Scott Campbell (Greensboro),
Luke Smith (Hardin-Simmons),
Brendon Lowrance (McMurry),
Colin Uecker (Texas Lutheran),
Sam Goldenring (Williams)

Full championship history

2019 Illinois Wesleyan Jim Ott 1,174  Huntingdon College  1,177 Nicholasville, KY
2018 Methodist Steve Conley 1,159 Washington & Lee 1,170 Greensboro, N.C.
2017 Wittenberg Jeff Roope 1,180 Guilford 1,182 Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla.
2016 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Bim Jollymour 1,198 Huntingdon 1,204 Penfield, N.Y.
2015 Methodist Steve Conley 1,173 LaGrange 1,176 Greensboro, N.C.
2014 Schreiner Ron Macosko 1,185 Ogelthorpe 1,190 Greensboro, N.C.
2013 Texas-Tyler King Campbell 1,167 Transylvania 1,174 Miramar Beach, Fla.
2012 Oglethorpe Jim Owen 1,171 Transylvania 1,191 Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla.
2011 Greensboro Dirk Fennie 1,167 Illinois Wesleyan 1,173 Greensboro, N.C.
2010 Methodist Steve Conley 1,177 Guilford 1,178 Hershey, Pa.
2009 Oglethorpe Jim Owen 1,164 La Verne 1,168 Port St. Lucie, Fla.
2008 St. John’s (Minn.) Bob Alpers 1,192 Redlands 1,195 Emory
2007 St. John’s (Minn.) Bob Alpers 1,204 La Verne 1,216 Anderson (Ind.)
2006 Nebraska Wesleyan Brett Balak 1,193 Redlands 1,203 Nebraska Wesleyan
2005 Guilford Jack Jensen 1,174 Redlands 1,199 Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla.
2004 Gustavus Adolphus Scott Moe 1,178 Redlands 1,190 Redlands
2003 Averett Jim Gourlay 1,175 Wesley 1,180 Ohio Wesleyan
2002 Guilford Jack Jensen 1,212 Greensboro 1,218 Nebraska Wesleyan
2001 Wisconsin-Eau Claire Todd Oehrlien 1,162 Guilford 1,163 Maryville (Mo.)
2000 Greensboro Robert Linville 881 Methodist 882 Olivet
1999 Methodist Steve Conley 1,190 UC San Diego 1,217 Williams
1998 Methodist Steve Conley 1,145 Otterbein 1,179 Emory
1997 Methodist Steve Conley 1,191 Greensboro 1,226 Otterbein
1996 Methodist Steve Conley 1,184 Skidmore 1,186 Skidmore
1995 Methodist Steve Conley 899 Otterbein 917 Rose-Hulman
1994 Methodist Steve Conley 1,177 UC San Diego 1,201 Methodist
1993 UC San Diego Mike Wydra 1,190 Ohio Wesleyan 1,202 UC San Diego
1992 Methodist Steve Conley 1,200 Gustavus Adolphus 1,213 Wooster
1991 Methodist Steve Conley 1,209 Gustavus Adolphus 1,224 Nebraska Wesleyan
1990 Methodist Steve Conley 1,172 Ohio Wesleyan/Gustavus Adolphus 1,202 Emory
1989 Cal State Stanislaus Jim Hanny 1,202 Methodist 1,210 Central (Iowa)
1988 Cal State Stanislaus Jim Hanny 888 Greensboro 914 Greensboro
1987 Cal State Stanislaus Jim Hanny 1,200 UC San Diego 1,214 Ohio Wesleyan
1986 Cal State Stanislaus Jim Hanny 108 UC San Diego 1,217 King’s (Pa.)
1985 Cal State Stanislaus Jim Hanny 111 UC San Diego 1,213 Rochester (N.Y.)
1984 Cal State Stanislaus Jim Hanny 1,210 Methodist 1,216 Oswego State
1983 Allegheny Norm Sundstrom 1,229 Ramapo 1,231 Wooster
1982 Ramapo Vince Nardiello 1,200 Cal State Stanislaus 1,201 Wittenberg
1981 Cal State Stanislaus Jim Hanny 1,262 Roanoke 1,265 Greensboro
1980 Cal State Stanislaus Jim Hanny 1,156 Ramapo 1,177 Central (Iowa)
1979 Cal State Stanislaus Jim Hanny 1,269 Slippery Rock 1,318 Hampden-Sydney
1978 Cal State Stanislaus Jim Hanny 1,223 Allegheny 1,232 Wooster
1977 Cal State Stanislaus Jim Hanny 1,222 Mass-Dartmouth 1,225 Kenyon
1976 Cal State Stanislaus Jim Hanny 1,221 Ashland 1,228 Wittenberg
1975 Wooster Robert Nye 907 Hampden-Sydney 909 Tennessee-Martin




About Author

Turner South Syndicate  is proud to publish TSS is a group of common interest people coming together in the sports news world. Sports news has always been an evolving hobby of ours. We take pride in researching the latest breaking news and presenting stories to readers as a quick reference. Sources are from multiple outlets scoured by our highly enthused team of researchers. Presenting a navigational friendly website, we are dedicated to exhibit the latest stories in sports. Also, for mobile news check out our app, Sports Buzz Source, on Google Play Store. ​ Lastest app releases are Remind List+ and YoCelsi on iTunes. Remind List+ -- Record all your list in one place and get notifications on home screen. Check it out... ​ YoCelsi - Minimalist Weather and Local Sorm Conditions Social Browser - 3D iBrowser with integrated social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc...)

Comments are closed.