Sixteen teams vie for the 2020 World Series, following a truncated 60-game MLB regular season. The postseason gets started with the Wild Card Series beginning Sept. 29. The World Series is scheduled for Oct. 20-Oct. 28, if necessary.

Overall, 296 former NCAA baseball players, 157 different NCAA schools, 28 DI conferences and all three divisions are represented on this year’s playoff teams. Below is a full breakdown of the colleges and conferences with the most players participating in the 2020 MLB postseason.

Note: This includes all players listed on each team’s official MLB.com 40-man roster, who are eligible for the 28-man active roster that will be determined before each round of the playoffs. 

To skip ahead to see every former NCAA student-athlete, broken down by team, click on the following links: Astros | Athletics | Blue Jays | Indians | Rays | Twins | White Sox | Yankees | Braves | Brewers | Cardinals | Cubs | Dodgers | Marlins | Padres | Reds

Colleges with the most players in the 2020 MLB playoffs

Cal State Fullerton 8 Big West
Vanderbilt 8 SEC
Florida 7 SEC
Louisville 7 ACC
Mississippi State 7 SEC
Stanford 6 Pac-12
Arkansas 6 SEC
North Carolina 5 ACC
Oklahoma 5 Big 12
Texas A&M 5 SEC
USC 5 Pac-12
Auburn 4 SEC
Kent State 4 MAC
Oregon State 4 Pac-12
South Carolina 4 SEC
UCLA 4 Pac-12
Alabama 3 SEC
Arizona State 3 Pac-12
Baylor 3 Big 12
California 3 Pac-12
Dallas Baptist 3 MVC
Florida State 3 ACC
Fresno State 3 MWC
Hawaii 3 Big West
Indiana 3 Big Ten
Maryland 3 Big Ten
Miami (Fla.) 3 ACC
Notre Dame 3 ACC
Ole Miss 3 SEC
Pittsburgh 3 ACC
Saint Mary’s (CA) 3 WCC
St. John’s (NY) 3 Big East
Tennessee 3 SEC
Texas 3 Big 12
Virginia 3 ACC
Washington 3 Pac-12
Clemson 2 ACC
Georgia 2 SEC
Gonzaga 2 WCC
Harvard 2 Ivy
Houston 2 AAC
Indiana State 2 MVC
Kentucky 2 SEC
Lipscomb 2 ASUN
Michigan 2 Big Ten
Missouri State 2 MVC
New Mexico 2 MWC
North Carolina State 2 ACC
Northeastern 2 CAA
Nova Southeastern  2 DII
Old Dominion 2 C-USA
Princeton 2 Ivy
Purdue 2 Big Ten
San Diego State 2 MWC
San Francisco 2 WCC
South Dakota State 2 Summit
Texas Tech 2 Big 12
UC Davis 2 Big West
UConn 2 Big East
Akron 1 MAC
Arizona 1 Pac-12
Ball State 1 MAC
Belmont 1 OVC
Belmont Abbey (DII) 1 DII
Boston College 1 ACC
Bowling Green 1 MAC
Bradley 1 MVC
Bryant 1 Northeast
Cal Baptist 1 WAC
Cal Poly 1 Big West
Cal State East Bay  1 DII
Central Arkansas 1 Southland
Central Michigan 1 MAC
Charleston 1 CAA
Charleston Southern 1 Big South
Cincinnati 1 AAC
Coastal Carolina 1 Sun Belt
Colorado Mesa  1 DII
Creighton 1 Big East
Dartmouth 1 Ivy
Dayton 1 Atlantic 10
Dixie State  1 DII
Drury (DII) 1 DII
Eastern Mennonite  1 DIII
Eastern Michigan 1 MAC
Elon 1 CAA
Embry-Riddle  1 DII
Florida Atlantic 1 C-USA
Florida Gulf Coast 1 ASUN
Florida International 1 C-USA
Florida Southern  1 DII
Florida Tech  1 DII
Gardner-Webb 1 Big South
Georgia Tech 1 ACC
Hartford 1 America East
High Point 1 Big South
Illinois 1 Big Ten
Illinois State 1 MVC
Jacksonville 1 ASUN
Kansas State 1 Big 12
Lafayette 1 Patriot
Lake Erie 1 DII
LIU Brooklyn 1 Northeast
Long Beach State 1 Big West
Louisiana Tech 1 C-USA
Lynn  1 DII
McNeese State 1 Southland
Mercyhurst 1 DII
Missouri 1 SEC
Mount Olive 1 DII
Navy 1 Patriot
Nebraska 1 Big Ten
New Mexico State 1 WAC
Northeastern State  1 DII
Northwestern 1 Big Ten
Oakland 1 Horizon
Oklahoma Baptist  1 DII
Oklahoma State 1 Big 12
Oral Roberts 1 Summit
Oregon 1 Pac-12
Rice 1 C-USA
Rutgers 1 Big Ten
Saint Louis 1 Atlantic 10
Sam Houston State 1 Southland
San Diego 1 WCC
Santa Clara 1 WCC
Seattle 1 WAC
Slippery Rock  1 DII
Sonoma State  1 DII
South Carolina – Upstate 1 Big South
South Florida 1 AAC
Southeast Missouri State 1 OVC
Southeastern Louisiana 1 Southland
Southern 1 SWAC
Stony Brook 1 America East
TCU 1 Big 12
Tennessee-Martin 1 OVC
Texas State 1 Sun Belt
Texas-Arlington 1 Sun Belt
Tulane 1 AAC
UC Irvine 1 Big West
UC Riverside 1 Big West
UC Santa Barbara 1 Big West
UMass Lowell 1 America East
UNC Wilmington 1 CAA
VCU 1 Atlantic 10
Virginia Tech 1 ACC
Wayne State (MI) 1 DII
Webster  1 DIII
West Chester (Pa.)  1 DII
West Virginia 1 Big 12
Wichita State 1 AAC
Wisconsin-Stevens Point 1 DIII
Wright State 1 Horizon
Young Harris 1 DII

Back to top

Conferences with the most players in the 2020 MLB playoffs

SEC 58
ACC 34
Pac-12 30
Division II 21
Big West 18
Big 12 17
Big Ten 14
Big East 6
Ivy 5
Big South 4
Southland 4
Division III 3
America East 3
Atlantic 10 3
Summit 3
Sun Belt 3
Horizon 2
Northeast 2
Patriot 2

BORN WINNERS: Here are the players that have won both an MLB and College World Series title

American League playoff teams

Houston Astros

Astros third baseman Alex Bregman, a two-time All-Star and the 2019 AL MVP runner-up, wrapped up his LSU career (2013-15) with 56 doubles (eighth in program history) and a .337 career batting average. The Tigers made the College World Series his freshman and junior years.

UConn product George Springer, MVP of the 2017 World Series, was a two-time All-Big East first team selection and the 2011 Big East Player of the Year. He became the Huskies’ highest-drafted player in program history when he was taken 11th overall in the 2011 MLB Draft.

Player Position College
Brandon Bailey P Gonzaga
Joe Biagini P UC Davis
Brandon Bielak P Notre Dame
Chris Devenski P Cal State Fullerton
Austin Pruitt P Houston
Brooks Raley P Texas A&M
Andre Scrubb P High Point
Cy Sneed P Dallas Baptist
Justin Verlander P Old Dominion
Dustin Garneau C Cal State Fullerton
Garrett Stubbs C USC
Alex Bregman 3B LSU
Taylor Jones 1B Gonzaga
Jack Mayfield 2B Oklahoma
George Springer RF UConn

Back to top

Oakland Athletics


Athletics shortstop Marcus Semien finished third in AL MVP voting in 2019 and had seven homers in 53 games this season. He broke out as a sophomore at Cal in 2010, when he batted .328 with 17 doubles and 34 RBIs.

Left-hander Sean Manaea is third on Indiana State’s all-time strikeouts list with 290 in his three-year career. As a junior in 2013, Manaea posted a school-record 1.47 ERA and averaged 11.4 strikeouts per nine innings.

Player Position College
Chris Bassitt P Akron
Mike Fiers P Nova Southeastern (DII)
Daulton Jefferies P California
James Kaprielian P UCLA
Sean Manaea P Indiana State
Mike Minor P Vanderbilt
A.J. Puk P Florida
Burch Smith P Oklahoma
Lou Trivino P Slippery Rock (DII)
Austin Allen C Florida Tech (DII)
Sean Murphy C Wright State
Matt Chapman 3B Cal State Fullerton
Tommy La Stella 2B Coastal Carolina
Jake Lamb 3B Washington
Vimael Machín 2B VCU
Sheldon Neuse 3B Oklahoma
Nate Orf 2B Baylor
Marcus Semien SS California
Skye Bolt RF North Carolina
Mark Canha OF California
Khris Davis LF Cal State Fullerton
Tony Kemp CF Vanderbilt
Chad Pinder LF Virginia Tech
Stephen Piscotty RF Stanford

Back to top

Toronto Blue Jays


Second-year star Cavan Biggio, son of Baseball Hall of Famer Craig, is one key part of Toronto’s young nucleus of offensive talent. From 2014-16, Biggio had a .272/.406/.425 slash line with 42 multi-hit games in 167 appearances for Notre Dame. 

Rookie Thomas Hatch was a reliable arm in the Blue Jays’ bullpen this year, posting a 2.73 ERA with 23 strikeouts in 26.1 innings. Hatch led Oklahoma State to the 2016 CWS as a starter, finishing his redshirt sophomore season 9-3 with a 2.14 ERA.

Player Position College
Chase Anderson P Oklahoma
Anthony Bass P Wayne State (MI) (DII)
Thomas Hatch P Oklahoma State
Anthony Kay P UConn
Julian Merryweather P Oklahoma Baptist (DII)
Tanner Roark P Illinois
Jordan Romano P Oral Roberts
Matt Shoemaker P Eastern Michigan
Ross Stripling P Texas A&M
Trent Thornton P North Carolina
Jacob Waguespack P Ole Miss
T.J. Zeuch P Pittsburgh
Cavan Biggio 2B Notre Dame
Joe Panik 2B St. John’s (NY)
Travis Shaw 3B Kent State
Jonathan Davis CF Central Arkansas
Derek Fisher RF Virginia

Back to top

Cleveland Indians