Iowa basketball's Megan Gustafson is among the nation's best.
Iowa’s Megan Gustafson, Oregon’s Sabrina Ionescu and Notre Dame’s Arike Ogunbowale headline a midseason list 30 women’s basketball players announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club to be in consideration for the Citizen Naismith Trophy. Previous winners of the award include South Carolina’s A’ja Wilson last year and Washington’s Kelsey Plum the year before that. UConn’s Breanna Stewart won it three years in a row from 2014-16.

This year’s group includes eight players from the ACC, seven from the Pac-12, five from the SEC, four from the Big 12, three from the AAC, two from the Big Ten and one from the BIG EAST. 

LEAVING A LEGACY: Oregon’s Sabrina Ionescu has had a stellar career

Notre Dame’s tally accounts for five of the Atlantic Coast Conference’s eight and leads all teams. UConn and Oregon can both boast of three players on the list.

Ogunbowale leads Notre Dame with 21 points per game and has a team-high 44 steals. Ionescu leads Oregon with 19.3 points and 8.2 assists per game. Gustafson leads Iowa with 27.3 points and 12.8 rebounds per game. All play for ranked programs in contention for a national title, as do Baylor’s Kalani Brown and Lauren Cox and UConn’s Napheesa Collier, Crystal Dangerfield and Katie Lou Samuelson. 

SCORES: See who had the upper hand in games played this past weekend

The list will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists in March and four finalists later that same month. The winner will be announced in April.

2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy Women’s Midseason Team

Kristine Anigwe Sr. C/F California Pac-12
Kalani Brown Sr. C Baylor Big 12
Bridget Carleton Sr. G Iowa State Big 12
Chennedy Carter So. G Texas A&M SEC
Kaila Charles Jr. G Maryland Big Ten
Napheesa Collier Sr. F UConn AAC
Lauren Cox Jr. F Baylor Big 12
Sophie Cunningham Sr. G Missouri SEC
Crystal Dangerfield Jr. G UConn AAC
Asia Durr Sr. G Louisville ACC
Megan Gustafson Sr. F Iowa Big Ten
Ruthy Hebard Jr. F Oregon Pac-12
Natisha Hiedeman Sr. G Marquette BIG EAST
Anriel Howard Sr. F Mississippi State SEC
Megan Huff Sr. F Utah Pac-12
Sabrina Ionescu Jr. G Oregon Pac-12
Marina Mabrey Sr. G Notre Dame ACC
Tiana Mangakahia Jr. G Syracuse ACC
Tynice Martin Jr. G West Virginia Big 12
Teaira McCowan Sr. C Mississippi State SEC
Beatrice Mompremier Jr. F Miami ACC
Maci Morris Sr. G Kentucky SEC
Arike Ogunbowale Sr. G Notre Dame ACC
Satou Sabally So. F Oregon Pac-12
Katie Lou Samuelson Sr. G UConn AAC
Jessica Shepard Sr. F Notre Dame ACC
Destiny Slocum So. G Oregon State Pac-12
Alanna Smith Sr. F Stanford Pac-12
Brianna Turner Sr. F Notre Dame ACC
Jackie Young Jr. G Notre Dame ACC

About Author

Turner South Syndicate  is proud to publish TSS is a group of common interest people coming together in the sports news world. Sports news has always been an evolving hobby of ours. We take pride in researching the latest breaking news and presenting stories to readers as a quick reference. Sources are from multiple outlets scoured by our highly enthused team of researchers. Presenting a navigational friendly website, we are dedicated to exhibit the latest stories in sports. Also, for mobile news check out our app, Sports Buzz Source, on Google Play Store. ​ Lastest app releases are Remind List+ and YoCelsi on iTunes. Remind List+ -- Record all your list in one place and get notifications on home screen. Check it out... ​ YoCelsi - Minimalist Weather and Local Sorm Conditions Social Browser - 3D iBrowser with integrated social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc...)

Comments are closed.