In a match that came down the wire, Stanford managed to hold off a rally from Vanderbilt and win the 2018 DI Women’s Tennis national championship, its ninth since the turn of the century. Stanford’s Melissa Lord’s three-set victory over Vandy’s Fernanda Contreras, including a 7-5 third set, gave the Cardinal the title.

After Vanderbilt won the doubles point 2-1 to begin the afternoon, Stanford fought back strong and dominated singles play early. After all six matches had played a set, the Cardinal owned five leads to Vanderbilt’s one. 

But the Commodores pushed back, forcing a pair of third sets while finishing off the one lead it already held, a two-set Astra Sharma win over Stanford’s Michaela Gordon.

RELATED: Full interactive bracket