On the 2019 Wooden Award Midseason Top 25 Watch List, three players make their debut on the Wooden Watch after not being named on the Preseason Top 30: Kenisha Bell of Minnesota, Rhyne Howard of Kentucky, and Aari McDonald of Arizona. Four schools have multiple players on the list, led by Connecticut (Napheesa Collier, Crystal Dangerfield, and Katie Lou Samuelson) and Notre Dame (Arike Ogunbowale, Jessica Shepard, and Jackie Young) with three selections each, followed by two schools with two selections each: Baylor (Kalani Brown and Lauren Cox) and Oregon (Ruthy Hebard and Sabrina Ionescu).

The Pac-12 leads all conferences with six selections on the midseason top 25; followed by the ACC and SEC with five selections each; and the American, Big 12 and Big Ten with three selections apiece.

RANKINGS: AP Top 25 | USA Today Top 25

The players on the list are considered strong candidates for the 2019 John R. Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s. The leading candidates will be further pared to 20 top players in early February. Fifteen top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA will be submitted to voters on the Final Ballot prior to the NCAA tournament. Every year, players have made the Final Ballot that were not on the preseason or midseason lists. Voters are permitted to take into consideration the opening rounds of the NCAA tournament when casting the ballot. The Wooden Award All American Team™ will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA tournament. The winner of the 2019 John R. Wooden Award will be presented during the ESPN College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s on Friday, April 12, 2019.

Name School Class Position
Kristine Anigwe California Sr. F/C
Kenisha Bell Minnesota Sr. G
Kalani Brown Baylor Sr. C
Bridget Carleton Iowa State Sr. G
Chennedy Carter Texas A&M So. G
Kaila Charles Maryland Jr. G
Napheesa Collier Connecticut Sr. F
Lauren Cox Baylor Jr. F
Sophie Cunningham Missouri Sr. G
Crystal Dangerfield Connecticut Jr. G
Rennia Davis Tennessee So. G/F
Asia Durr# Louisville Sr. G
Megan Gustafson Iowa Sr. F
Ruthy Hebard Oregon Jr. F
Rhyne Howard Kentucky Fr. G
Sabrina Ionescu# Oregon Jr. G
Tiana Mangakahia Syracuse Jr. G
Teaira McCowan Mississippi State Sr. C
Aari McDonald Arizona So. G
Arike Ogunbowale Notre Dame Sr. G
Katie Lou Samuelson# Connecticut Sr. G/F
Jessica Shepard Notre Dame Sr. F
Destiny Slocum Oregon State So. G
Alanna Smith Stanford Sr. F
Jackie Young Notre Dame Jr. G

About Author

Turner South Syndicate  is proud to publish SportsBuzzSource.com TSS is a group of common interest people coming together in the sports news world. Sports news has always been an evolving hobby of ours. We take pride in researching the latest breaking news and presenting stories to readers as a quick reference. Sources are from multiple outlets scoured by our highly enthused team of researchers. Presenting a navigational friendly website, we are dedicated to exhibit the latest stories in sports. Also, for mobile news check out our app, Sports Buzz Source, on Google Play Store. ​ Lastest app releases are Remind List+ and YoCelsi on iTunes. Remind List+ -- Record all your list in one place and get notifications on home screen. Check it out... ​ YoCelsi - Minimalist Weather and Local Sorm Conditions Social Browser - 3D iBrowser with integrated social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc...)

Comments are closed.