In the 50th celebration season of the Citizen Naismith Trophy, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced the Naismith Top 30 players in consideration for the 2018 Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year on Monday. The Pac-12 leads with 12 players listed, while the ACC and SEC follow with five each.

The list of players include Iowa center Megan Gustafson, who ranks in the top eight in nine statistical categories, and No. 13 Ohio State guard Kelsey Mitchell who is currently tied for second in the nation in scoring, averaging 24.5 points per game.

Mitchell has played herself into the history books this season, breaking the all-time 3-point record and becoming the 13th player in NCAA history to record 3,000 career points in January.

Also making the list are Louisville’s dynamic duo Asia Durr and Myisha Hines-Allen. The two led Louisville to a No. 2 ranking in early January — the highest in the program’s history — thanks to Durr’s 36-point and Hines-Allen’s 31-point performances in a 100-67 win over then-No. 2 Notre Dame. Both players have earned ACC honors multiple times this season and are in position for an ACC title run.

Teaira McCowan of now-No. 2 Mississippi State also makes an appearance, posting five double-doubles so far this season and leading the undefeated Bulldogs to the top of the SEC.

Undefeated UConn has four players on the list: Napheesa Collier, Kia Nurse, Katie Lou Samuelson and Gabby Williams.

Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, the creator of the game of basketball, the first Naismith trophy was awarded in 1969 to UCLA’s Lew Alcindor, later known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. The Citizen Naismith Women’s Player of the Year Award was first given to Anne Donovan of Old Dominion University in 1983. Former all-time leading scorer and Washington guard Kelsey Plum is the 2017 Citizen Naismith Trophy winner. The 10 semifinalists will be announced in March.


Name Class Position School Conference
Kristine Anigwe Junior C/F California Pac-12
Ariel Atkins Senior G Texas Big 12
Monique Billings Senior F UCLA Pac-12
Kalani Brown Junior C Baylor Big 12
Lexie Brown Senior  G Duke ACC
Jordin Canada Senior G UCLA Pac-12
Chennedy Carter Freshman G Texas A&M SEC
Kaila Charles Sophomore G Maryland Big Ten
Napheesa Collier Junior F UConn AAC
Sophie Cunningham Junior G Missouri SEC
Asia Durr Junior G Louisville ACC
Katelynn Flaherty Senior G Michigan Big Ten
Marie Gulich Senior C Oregon State Pac-12
Megan Gustafson Junior F Iowa Big Ten
Ruthy Hebard Sophomore F Oregon Pac-12
Myisha Hines-Allen Senior F Louisville ACC
Sabrina Ionescu Sophomore G Oregon Pac-12
Brooke McCarty Senior G Texas Big 12
Teaira McCowan Junior C Mississippi State SEC
Brittany McPhee Senior G Stanford Pac-12
Kelsey Mitchell Senior G Ohio State Big Ten
Jaime Nared Senior G Tennessee SEC
Kia Nurse Senior UConn AAC
Arike Ogunbowale Junior G Notre Dame ACC
Mercedes Russell Senior C Tennessee SEC
Katie Lou Samuelson Junior G/F UConn AAC
Shakayla Thomas Senior F Florida State ACC
Victoria Vivians  Senior G Mississippi State SEC
Gabby Williams Senior F UConn AAC
A’ja Wilson Senior F South Carolina SEC


The views on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of the NCAA or its member institutions.


About Author

Turner South Syndicate  is proud to publish TSS is a group of common interest people coming together in the sports news world. Sports news has always been an evolving hobby of ours. We take pride in researching the latest breaking news and presenting stories to readers as a quick reference. Sources are from multiple outlets scoured by our highly enthused team of researchers. Presenting a navigational friendly website, we are dedicated to exhibit the latest stories in sports. Also, for mobile news check out our app, Sports Buzz Source, on Google Play Store. ​ Lastest app releases are Remind List+ and YoCelsi on iTunes. Remind List+ -- Record all your list in one place and get notifications on home screen. Check it out... ​ YoCelsi - Minimalist Weather and Local Sorm Conditions Social Browser - 3D iBrowser with integrated social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc...)

Comments are closed.