In 2015, Kentucky’s bid for its first perfect season since 1954 was thwarted by Wisconsin in the Final Four after 38 straight wins. It was an extremely impressive run, but it’s not even half of the longest winning streak in Division I history.

RELATED: The best college basketball team from every decade

Here are the five longest:

5 — Texas: 44

Seasons: 1913-17
Ended by: Rice, 24-18

Texas Athletics
The 1915 Texas basketball team

In 1908, due to a lack of funding, Texas disbanded its basketball team, but a student and player-led campaign brought the sport back after a one-year hiatus. Five years later, coach Theo Bellmont led the Longhorns on a 11-0 campaign in what would be the first of three undefeated seasons. In 1913, the Texas’ 14-0 season was capped off with the inaugural Southwest Conference championship. Bellmont stepped down after that season, but newly appointed coach Roy Henderson kept the streak alive with a 12-0 season in 1915. After Rice’s 24-18 win in 1917, Texas’ streak would stand as the NCAA record for 40 years before San Francisco would break it.

4 — UNLV: 45

Seasons: 1990-91
Ended by: Duke, 79-77

UNLV Athletics
UNLV 1990UNLV after winning the 1990 national championship

Under coach Jerry Tarkanian, UNLV became a national powerhouse in the 1980s, with a 247-39 record (.864 win percentage) from 1982-1990. They went to eight straight NCAA tournaments in that span, never losing before the second round. In 1990, the preseason No. 1 Running Rebels lost three games to unranked opponents, but finished the season on an 11-game winning streak, beating Duke 103-73 for the national championship. The next year, the two teams would meet again, this time in the Final Four. UNLV hadn’t lost since the first matchup with Duke, riding a 45-game winning streak into the semifinal. But Christian Laettner’s 28 points — including two free throws to take the lead with 12.7 seconds left were too much to overcome.