North Dakota State has been king of the decade with six NCAA FCS national football titles in the past seven years. That’s good enough to put the Bison in a tie for first place among schools with the most all-time FCS national championships.

North Dakota State and Georgia Southern (now an FBS Sun Belt member) each have six FCS titles, two more than any other school in the championship’s 40-year history. NDSU will have a shot at No. 7 this year as the No. 1 overall seed in the 2018 FCS playoff bracket.

Twenty-one different schools have lifted the trophy since 1978. Here is a list of every institution to win an FCS championship, ranked in order from most titles to least.

Schools with the most NCAA FCS football championships:

School Number of titles Year(s)
Georgia Southern 6 1985, 1986, 1989, 1990, 1999, 2000
North Dakota State 6 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017
Youngstown State 4 1991, 1993, 1994, 1997
Appalachian State 3 2005, 2006, 2007
Eastern Kentucky 2 1979, 1982
James Madison 2 2004, 2016
Marshall 2 1992, 1996
Montana 2 1984, 2001
Boise State 1 1980
Delaware 1 2003
Eastern Washington 1 2010
Florida A&M 1 1978
Furman 1 1988
Idaho State 1 1981
Louisiana-Monroe 1 1987
Massachusetts 1 1998
Montana State 1 1984
Richmond 1 2008
Southern Illinois 1 1983
Villanova 1 2009
Western Kentucky 1 2002

RELATED: Complete FCS championship history | Future sites and dates

5 FCS football facts worth knowing:

  • Of the 21 different schools to claim at least one title, seven no longer play at the FCS level. Appalachian State, Boise State, Georgia Southern, Louisiana-Monroe, Marshall, Massachusetts and Western Kentucky are all current members of the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).
  • Five schools have won titles in at least two consecutive seasons. North Dakota State owns the longest streak at five in a row (2011-15), followed by Appalachian State’s three straight titles from 2005-07. Georgia Southern (1985-86,1989-90, 1999-00) and Youngstown State (1993-94) are the other two schools to go back to back.
  • Jim Tressel has the most championship wins among head coaches in FCS history. He was at the helm of Youngstown State for all four of their titles in the 1990s. Chris Klieman (North Dakota State), Craig Bohl (North Dakota State), Jerry Moore (Appalachian State) and Erk Russell (Georgia Southern) all won three championships as head coach.
  • Georgia Southern has the most all-time championship game appearances at eight (6-2 record). Youngstown State (4-3) and Montana (2-5) have been to the finals seven times. North Dakota State follows with a perfect 6-0 record in the title game.
  • Thirty-four different programs have appeared in the FCS national championship game. Only two schools — McNeese and Sam Houston State — have reached that level twice without a trophy to show for it.

MORE: Buy 2018 FCS championship tickets | The road to Frisco 


About Author

Turner South Syndicate  is proud to publish TSS is a group of common interest people coming together in the sports news world. Sports news has always been an evolving hobby of ours. We take pride in researching the latest breaking news and presenting stories to readers as a quick reference. Sources are from multiple outlets scoured by our highly enthused team of researchers. Presenting a navigational friendly website, we are dedicated to exhibit the latest stories in sports. Also, for mobile news check out our app, Sports Buzz Source, on Google Play Store. ​ Lastest app releases are Remind List+ and YoCelsi on iTunes. Remind List+ -- Record all your list in one place and get notifications on home screen. Check it out... ​ YoCelsi - Minimalist Weather and Local Sorm Conditions Social Browser - 3D iBrowser with integrated social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc...)

Comments are closed.