Oregon State capped off an impressive national championship run Thursday night at the College World Series with a 5-0 win in Game 3 against Arkansas. It was the Beavers’ sixth straight victory when facing elimination in Omaha this month as they became just the 12th national champion to lose its first game in the CWS before winning the title.

In the 72 NCAA Division I Baseball Championships held since the tournament started in 1947, just over 15 percent of national champions have overcome an opening-round loss. Oregon State became the first champion to do so since South Carolina in 2010.

RELATED: Shop Oregon State CWS champ gear | Interactive bracket