The Middlebury men’s tennis team won its third NCAA championship (2004, 2010) with a 5-3 victory Wednesday over third-ranked NESCAC foe Bowdoin (23-2). The championship match took place at the Biszantz Family Tennis Center in Claremont, Calif. The top-ranked Panthers finish their spring with a single-season record 25 wins (25-4). The national championship is Middlebury’s second title of 2017-18 (field hockey) and the school’s 35th overall since 1995.

Middlebury gained a 2-1 advantage after doubles in the title match. The Panthers got on the scoreboard first as the third pair of Timo van der Geest and Peter Martin won six of the last seven games en route to an 8-3 victory over Gil Roddy and Larry Zhao.

The Polar Bears knotted the match at 1-1 when Jerry Jiang and Kyle Wolfe posted an 8-4 win against William de Quant and Noah Farrell. In the top spot, Middlebury’s Kyle Schlanger and Lubomir Cuba held a 4-1 lead before Bowdoin’s Luke Tercek and Grant Urken won five of the next seven games, tying the match at 6-6. Both duos held serve over the next four games, sending the match to a seven-point tiebreaker. During the tiebreaker, the Panthers moved out to leads of 3-0 and 6-2 before Cuba tallied an ace, sending Middlebury into singles play ahead 2-1.

MORE: View the 2018 DIII men’s tennis championship bracket