INDIANAPOLIS– The NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2016 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship. 

First- and second-round competition takes place May 13-14 or May 14-15 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 20-24. The event will be hosted by the University of Tulsa.

“The 2015-16 men’s tennis season has been extremely competitive. This bracket is a great reflection of that competitiveness and the hard work each student-athlete and team has been putting in throughout the season.  I look forward to watching as teams advance to the final site in Tulsa.” said Bobby Bayliss, the chair of the Division I men’s tennis committee and the director of tennis facilities at the University of Notre Dame.

The matches shall be regulation dual matches. Three doubles matches consisting of six-game sets will be played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point; played the best of three sets. No-ad scoring will be used and a seven-point tiebreaker (first to seven points, must win by two points) will be played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

MORE: Interactive Bracket | Printable Bracket

During the championships, all matches will be stopped after the doubles point is decided. All remaining individual matches will be stopped once a team winner (four points won) has been determined. The score will only reflect completed matches.

Thirty-one conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2016 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship. Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

American Athletic – South Florida

Atlantic Coast – Wake Forest

Atlantic Sun –North Florida

Atlantic 10 – George Washington

Big East – St. John’s (New York)

Big Sky – Weber State

Big South – Coastal Carolina

Big Ten – Ohio State

Big 12 – TCU

Big West – UC Santa Barbara

Colonial – College of Charleston

Conference USA – Rice

Horizon – Valparaiso

Ivy – Columbia

MAAC – Monmouth

Mid-American – Western Michigan

Mid-Eastern – South Carolina State

Missouri Valley – Wichita State

Mountain West – UNLV

Northeast – Bryant

Ohio Valley – Tennessee Tech

Pacific-12- UCLA

Patriot – Army West Point

SEC – Florida

Southern – East Tennessee State

Southland –Lamar

SWAC – Jackson State

Summit – Denver

Sun Belt – UT Arlington

West Coast – San Diego

WAC – New Mexico State


About Author

Turner South Syndicate  is proud to publish TSS is a group of common interest people coming together in the sports news world. Sports news has always been an evolving hobby of ours. We take pride in researching the latest breaking news and presenting stories to readers as a quick reference. Sources are from multiple outlets scoured by our highly enthused team of researchers. Presenting a navigational friendly website, we are dedicated to exhibit the latest stories in sports. Also, for mobile news check out our app, Sports Buzz Source, on Google Play Store. ​ Lastest app releases are Remind List+ and YoCelsi on iTunes. Remind List+ -- Record all your list in one place and get notifications on home screen. Check it out... ​ YoCelsi - Minimalist Weather and Local Sorm Conditions Social Browser - 3D iBrowser with integrated social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc...)

Comments are closed.