In 2017, Western Michigan and Buffalo played a game that kicked off at 3:30 p.m. and didn’t finish until after 8 that night. The two teams needed seven overtimes to decide a winner, tying them for the longest game in FBS history.

RELATED: How overtime works in college football

The NCAA adopted an overtime rule in 1996. Since then, four teams have gone to seven overtimes, with the first coming in 2001, and the most recent (before Western Michigan vs. Buffalo) taking place in 2006.

For each of those games, the overtime rules have been virtually the same.

  • An overtime period consists of each team getting one possession from its opponent’s 25-yard line.
  • There is no game clock, only a play clock.
  • Starting with the third overtime, teams must attempt a 2-point conversion after every touchdown.

MORE: Highest scoring college football games across FBS, FCS, DII, and DIII

Here’s a recap of each of the four seven-overtime games in FBS history:

November 3, 2001 — Arkansas 58, Ole Miss 56