One of college football’s greatest bowl games will play its latest edition when No. 3 Notre Dame and No. 2 Clemson meet in the 83rd Cotton Bowl on Saturday, Dec. 29, at AT&T Stadium in Texas. Here is a preview and prediction for that game, which will be broadcast on ESPN and is set to begin at 4 p.m. Eastern.

The Cotton Bowl, one of the semifinal games in the College Football Playoff, will be followed by Alabama and Oklahoma in the Orange Bowl. You can see a preview and prediction for that game here.

The following is some Cotton Bowl history, including the founder of the game, when the first game was played, notable moments and the final score of every Cotton Bowl game. 

The first Cotton Bowl

The first Cotton Bowl was played in 1937 when Texas oil tycoon and real estate developer J. Curtis Sanford financed the game out of his own pocket. TCU defeated Marquette in that first game, 16-6, in front of about 17,000 fans. The game featured two of the nation’s premier quarterbacks in TCU’s Slingin’ Sammy Baugh and Marquette’s Ray “Buzz” Buivid. Rice beat Colorado the next year in front of 37,000 fans.

Who plays in the Cotton Bowl

The game featured the Southwest Conference winner until the conference’s disbandment in 1996. It then featured a Southeastern Conference team against a Big 12 team. However, beginning in 2014, the Cotton Bowl Classic became one of the rotating hosts of a game in the new playoff format.

A 13-member committee appointed by the College Football Playoff selects the pairings for the six bowl games. This selection process takes place on the first Sunday of December. In the years when the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic is not hosting a national semifinal game, the Playoff selection committee will assign a displaced conference champion, a top-ranked champion from a non-contract conference, or another highly-ranked team as the game’s participants.

How the Cotton Bowl fits into the College Football Playoff

The Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic was selected on April 24, 2012, as one of six bowl games to comprise the College Football Playoff. During this 12-year agreement, the Classic is part of a rotation for the national semifinals once every three years. In addition to the Goodyear Cotton Bowl, the New Year’s Six lineup includes the Allstate Sugar Bowl, Capital One Orange Bowl, Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, PlayStation Fiesta Bowl and the Rose Bowl presented by Northwestern Mutual.

Notable moments from the Cotton Bowl