The 2017-18 season saw the end of the careers for two of DII men’s basketball’s most prolific scorers. Justin Pitts, who led Northwest Missouri State to the 2017 national championship, ended his career atop the Bearcats’ record books, while West Texas A&M’s David Chavlovich set the Lone Star Conference career scoring record.

But neither came close to the greatest single-season scoring records in DII history.

Let’s take a look at the ten 10 dominating scoring seasons in the DII men’s basketball record books.

MORE: DII men’s basketball record book | 2018-19 stats

Clarence “Bevo” Francis, Rio Grande

Just how absurd was Francis’ 1954 record-setting campaign? The closest anyone has come to it is roughly four points per game. Oh, and he also has the DII men’s basketball player of the year award named after him.