LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — A total of 37 student-athletes from across the nation have been nominated for the 2018 Harlon Hill Trophy as the Division II College Football Player of the Year.

Nine nominees hail from Super Region 1, nine from Super Region 2, eight from Super Region 3 and 11 from Super Region 4.

The sports information directors at the 166 NCAA Division II football-playing institutions nominate and vote on the award. The 37 initial candidates will be placed on regional ballots and the top two players from each of the four NCAA regions will advance to the national ballot when regional voting concludes on Monday, Nov. 26.

MORE: The first round of the DII Football Championship is in the books. Here’s what we learned

The winner of the 2018 award will be announced on Friday, Dec. 14 and the winner will be honored at the Little Rock Touchdown Club awards banquet on Jan. 10, 2019.

The sports information directors at their respective schools initially nominate candidates. The SIDs in those Super Regions vote for their top five candidates. The winner is then determined in a nation-wide vote of the Division II sports information directors.

The group of 37 candidates includes 13 quarterbacks, nine running backs, eight wide receivers, three defensive ends, three linebackers and one defensive back.

MORE: We picked our bracket and sleepers for the DII Football Championship | Bracket

There list features 21 seniors, 10 juniors, four sophomores and two freshmen. One nominee — Bowie State’s Amir Hall, in 2017 — previously advanced to the finalist stage.

The Hill Trophy is named for the late Harlon Hill — the former University of North Alabama standout — who excelled with the Lions from 1950-53 before going on to fame in the National Football League with the Chicago Bears.

The nominees are listed below by region:

super regional 1        
Tyson Bagent QB Shepherd Fr. Martinsburg, West Virginia
Cory Contini WR Ohio Dominican Sr.  Dover, Ohio
Ashton Dulin WR/RS Malone Sr.  Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Walter Fletcher RB Edinboro Jr.  Columbia, Maryland
Josh Gontarek WR Shippensburg Jr.  Mount Airy, Maryland
Jaleel McLaughlin RB Notre Dame College Fr.  Marshville, North Carolina
Lamont McPhatter II DB California (PA) Jr.  New Castle, Pennsylvania
Ajee Patterson QB New Haven Sr.  Neptune, New Jersey
Chance Stewart QB Hillsdale Sr.  Sturgis, Michigan
super regionAL 2        
Kevin Greenhow WR Central State Jr. Columbus, Ohio
Amir Hall QB Bowie State Sr.  Bowie, Maryland
J.T. Hassell LB Florida Tech Sr.  Titusville, Florida
Jamarcus Henderson DE Newberry Sr.  Union, South Carolina
Cardell Rawlings DE Wingate Sr.  Smithfield, North Carolina
Craig Rucker WR Mars Hill Jr.  Orlando, Florida
Rogan Wells QB Valdosta State So.  Fort Mill, South Carolina
Antonio Wimbush RB Carson-Newman Jr.  Kingsland, Georgia
Bryce Witt QB Chowan So.  Sutherland, Virginia
super regionAL 3        
name position school class hometown
Jayru Campbell QB Ferris State Jr.  Detroit, Michigan
Ka’Ronce Higgins WR Southern Arkansas Sr.  Searcy, Arkansas
Cody Leonard LB Quincy Sr.  Carrolton, Illinois
Braxton Marstall QB Emporia State Sr.  Emporia, Kansas
Jake Mayon RB Northern Michigan Sr.  Plainfield, Illinois
Al McKeller RB Indianapolis So.  Indianapolis, Indiana
Kyrion Parker WR Central Missouri Sr.  Houston, Texas
Bart Williams QB Grand Valley State Sr.  Grand Blanc, Michigan
super regional 4        
name position school class hometown
Xavier Turner RB Tarleton State Sr.  North Richland Hills, Texas
Bo Highburger LB Western Oregon Sr.  Veneta, Oregon
Nate Gunn RB Minnesota State Jr.  Minooka, Illinois
Markus Jones DE Angelo State Sr.  Fort Worth, Texas
Gabriel Watson RB Sioux Falls Jr.  Piedmont, California
Cameron Mayberry RB Colorado School of Mines Jr.  Stillwater, Oklahoma
Kyle Saddler QB Augustana So.  Frisco, Texas
Jake Sullivan QB South Dakota Mines Sr.  Rapid City, South Dakota
Reilly Hennessey QB Central Washington Sr.  Camas, Washington
Layton Rabb QB Midwestern State Sr.  Llano, Texas
Chad Hovasse WR Adams State Sr.  Colorado Springs, Colorado

RELATED: These are the most intriguing numbers from the first round of the DII Football Championship


About Author

Turner South Syndicate  is proud to publish TSS is a group of common interest people coming together in the sports news world. Sports news has always been an evolving hobby of ours. We take pride in researching the latest breaking news and presenting stories to readers as a quick reference. Sources are from multiple outlets scoured by our highly enthused team of researchers. Presenting a navigational friendly website, we are dedicated to exhibit the latest stories in sports. Also, for mobile news check out our app, Sports Buzz Source, on Google Play Store. ​ Lastest app releases are Remind List+ and YoCelsi on iTunes. Remind List+ -- Record all your list in one place and get notifications on home screen. Check it out... ​ YoCelsi - Minimalist Weather and Local Sorm Conditions Social Browser - 3D iBrowser with integrated social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc...)

Comments are closed.