Alabama’s Nick Saban is still one national title away from making history. Saban and the Tide lost to Clemson in the 2019 National Championship Game, keeping Saban tied with Bear Bryant for the most titles in history.

Clemson coach Dabo Swinney is now a win away from jumping onto the three-timers list.

College football coaches with the most national championships

Bear Bryant, 6

The Alabama legend won all six of his national titles with the Tide: 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978 and 1979. As a testament to his longevity, Bryant’s final title, in 1979, came in his 22nd season with the Tide.