The College Football Awards show airs Thursday at 7 p.m. ET. The show, taking place in the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, will see 13 awards presented, though three winners have already been announced.

Here’s everything you need to know about it:

How to watch:

When: 7 p.m., ET
Stream: WatchESPN


Alabama leads the way with six finalists for awards, including Tua Tagovailoa and Quinnen Williams, who are both up for two awards.

The two awards Tagovailoa is up for hold extra significance due to another award being presented this Saturday — the Heisman.

Tagovailoa and Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray are both in the running for the Maxwell Award for the college player of the year, and the Davey O’Brien award for the nation’s best quarterback, and are also two of the three finalists for the Heisman.

RELATED: Comparing the 2018 Heisman finalists: How do Tua Tagovailoa, Kyler Murray, and Dwayne Haskins stack up?

The Maxwell Award was established in 1937, two years after the Heisman. Since then, 39 of the 81 winners of the Maxwell Award went on to win the Heisman (48.1 percent). The Davey O’Brien Award was first presented in 1981, and 18 of its 37 winners have gone on to win the Heisman (48.6 percent). Only 10 players have ever won all three:

Year Winner of Heisman, Maxwell, & Davey O’Brien School
1984 Doug Flutie Boston College
1986 Vinny Testaverde Miami
1990 Ty Detmer BYU
1992 Gino Torretta Miami
1993 Charlie Ward Florida State
1996 Danny Wuerffel Florida
2007 Tim Tebow Florida
2010 Cam Newton Auburn
2014 Marcus Mariota Oregon
2017 Baker Mayfield Oklahoma

MORE: College football bowl schedule, scores, TV listings, matchup information


Here is a list of all awards and the finalists for each:

Chuck Bednarik Award

Description: College Defensive Player of the Year
Finalists: Josh Allen, Kentucky (Sr.); Christian Wilkins, Clemson (Gr.); Quinnen Williams, Alabama (So.)

Biletnikoff Award

Description: Outstanding receiver
Finalists: Andy Isabella, UMass (Sr.); Jerry Jeudy, Alabama (So.); Tylan Wallace, Oklahoma State (So.)

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

Description: Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker
Finalists: Cooper Rothe, Wyoming (So.); Andre Szmut, Syracuse (Fr.); Cole Tracy, LSU (Sr.)

Ray Guy Award

Description: College Punter of the Year
Finalists: Braden Mann, Texas A&M (Jr.); James Smith, Cincinnati (So.); Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah (So.)

Maxwell Award

Description: College Player of the Year
Finalists: Will Grier, West Virginia (Sr.); Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Jr.); Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (So.)

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Description: Nation’s Best Quarterback
Finalists: Gardner Minshew II, Washington State (Gr.); Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Jr.); Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (So.)

Outland Trophy

Description: Nation’s Most Outstanding Interior Lineman
Finalists: Christian Wilkins, Clemson (Gr.); Jonah Williams, Alabama (So.); Quinnen Williams, Alabama (So.)

Paycom Jim Thorpe Award

Description: Nation’s Best Defensive Back
Finalists: DeAndre Baker, Georgia (Sr.); Julian Love, Notre Dame (Jr.); Greedy Williams, LSU (So.)

Doak Walker Award

Description: Nation’s Premier Running Back
Finalists: Travis Etienne, Clemson (So.); Darrell Henderson, Memphis (So.); Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin (So.)

The Home Depot Coach of the Year

Winner: Brian Kelly, Notre Dame

NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award

Winner: Historically Black Colleges and Universities

Disney Spirit Award

Winner: Tyler Trent, Inspirational Purdue football super fan

Walter Camp All-America Team

Winner announced Dec. 6


About Author

Turner South Syndicate  is proud to publish TSS is a group of common interest people coming together in the sports news world. Sports news has always been an evolving hobby of ours. We take pride in researching the latest breaking news and presenting stories to readers as a quick reference. Sources are from multiple outlets scoured by our highly enthused team of researchers. Presenting a navigational friendly website, we are dedicated to exhibit the latest stories in sports. Also, for mobile news check out our app, Sports Buzz Source, on Google Play Store. ​ Lastest app releases are Remind List+ and YoCelsi on iTunes. Remind List+ -- Record all your list in one place and get notifications on home screen. Check it out... ​ YoCelsi - Minimalist Weather and Local Sorm Conditions Social Browser - 3D iBrowser with integrated social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc...)

Comments are closed.